Tags

, , , ,

Joe Beninati and me in the M&T Bank press box

During the past 4 days I’ve had two random encounters indirectly involving the Washington Capitals.

The first is with a well-known member of the extended Caps family.

Saturday, March 12 I was shooting photos on the sidelines of the NCAA men’s lacrosse Face-off Classic at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, MD.

Check out a handful of my shots from the day of LAX action.

At halftime of the opening game, #1 Syracuse vs. Georgetown, my friend and I made our way up to the press box, where I bumped into CSN Washington and Washington Capitals TV announcer Joe Beninati (visit Joe Beninati’s Blog).

One of the best in the business, Joe B. was as nice in person as he talented at play-by-play duties.

He took a moment to say hello and pose for a picture with me before making his way across the room to answer questions about getting into sports media/broadcasting from a couple younger fans who seemed to wait for me to approach him first.

Thanks for being great Joe B.!

The next encounter happened earlier today.

My wife and I went to meet our new accountant, here in Frederick, MD. We met a young lady at the door of the office who guided us to a

Greg and me at his office

meeting room, where we waited for Greg.

As he entered the room we didn’t even get greetings out before we gave one another sideways glances – me in my Capitals pullover windbreaker and he in his black Penguins polo shirt.

We shared a laugh and mixed in some football and hockey as we conducted business.

It’s fun to have rivalries, especially when real fans can sit back and share appreciation of what each team, organization and city bring to the mix.

Greg – it was great meeting you and thanks for the playoff well-wishes.

I’m hoping our guys face each other again this post-season. Its how hockey should be and it would be nice to see Sidney on the ice again soon.

