Tags

, , , , , ,

April 4 - 10, 2011 issue

It is always fun to flip through a national/international publication and see something from the Washington Capitals being utilized as an example.

This happened over the weekend as I looked at my most recent copy of Street & Smith’s Sports Business Journal (April 4-10, 2011).

In an article titled, NHLPA re-signs Reebok, adds more licensees (may require subscription to view), an Alex Ovechkin Capitals player T-shirt is the accompanying image of an article that spans the entire NHL and NHLPA.

What stood out to me was how popular the player T-shirts are to licensees and the NHL/NHLPA. Then I thought about the player T-shirts I have purchased, even though I own some authentic Capitals jerseys.

Twice I have entered Verizon Center with need for red. The first time I was the recipient of last-minute tickets so I had to leave straight from work without time to stop home.

I arrived and immediately went to the Capitals store at VC and purchased a John Carlson “74” player T-shirt, so I could do my part in

Me and my nephew, in his "Greenie" player T-shirt

rocking the red that evening.

The next time was my 5-year-old nephew’s first Caps game. My wife and I met up with my older brother and his 4 kids and the little guy was the only one who did not yet have Caps gear.

I swept him up and we went over to one of the store areas on the concourse.

It was really cool, and my wife and older nephew were excited when Capitals owner Ted Leonsis showed up for some last-minute shopping at the same place, but I was too preoccupied and giddy to see my nephew in his first gear – a Mike Green “52” player T-shirt, that was too big but he should be able to wear for at least a year or 2.

The Capitals lost to the Kings that day, but the experience and the shirt still made it a special experience for the little guy and his older brother and sister.

Check out the available Capitals player T-shirts at NHLshop.com or I’m pretty sure you can find even more options at the team store at Verizon Center.

