Tags

, , , ,

It was the first time the Washington Capitals and Pittsburgh Penguins faced each other since the epic 2nd round playoff series last post-season and the Caps fought to a 6-3 victory at Mellon Arena.

For a regular season game, it had a terrific atmosphere and again, lived up to the hype that Alex Ovechkin, Evgeni Malkin and Sidney Crosby consistently bring to the big stage when they butt heads.

I loved it, though it still doesn’t really matter until (and if) they meet in the playoffs again. What was important tonight was seeing a quick panning shot of a gentleman in a suit, next to the Capitals bench after Ovi scored an empty netter with less than a minute to go. The man was sporting the tie that I and my groomsmen will be wearing for my wedding April 16th.

With purple being one of the wedding colors, I was excited to help a cause while securing the sharp NHL Hockey Fights Cancer Tie for both my brothers, my dad and three extremely close friends in the wedding. Below is the quick product recap from the NHL’s online store:

“Hockey Fights Cancer™ is a joint initiative by the National Hockey League® and the National Hockey League Players’ Association® to raise money and awareness for hockey’s most important fight. You can support this cause with this classy NHL® 2009 Hockey Fights Cancer™ silk tie. A portion of the proceeds are donated to the HFC organization.”

As the Great 8 skated past the bench to celebrate with his teammates, I caught the glimpse and remembered I had 6 more ties to order. Off to the computer I went and the purchase was made. So I guess Ovi helped me get ready for my wedding too. Is there anything this guy can’t do on the ice?

We’ll handle the ties this spring – you and the rest of the Caps take care of the wins.

