Tags

, , ,

After neglecting this blog since the heart-wrenching game 7 at Verizon Center, I had intended my next post to be an apology to Capitals general manager George McPhee, owner Ted Leonsis and the organization for letting emotions get the better of me on my previous post. That is still to come, but something of incredible significance happened today in the hockey world.

Former Capitals forward Dino Ciccarelli was voted into the Hockey Hall of Fame's class of 2010

Dino Ciccarelli after a Capitals practice at Piney Orchard in 1991 with my friend Jason and I.

I was incredibly excited to see former Washington Capitals forward Dino Ciccarelli voted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. He was one of the first players I really knew and he did the little things so well. Today’s team would benefit from this gritty, get-your-hands-dirty leader and scorer.

But the main reason I felt compelled to tickle the keyboard is the induction of the first two women players into the HOF. This is a sport that speaks to an international audience and competitors, but also attracts both genders at a high level.

Congratulations and thank you to Cammi Granato and Angela James. I’m so excited to point this out to my young niece who is just starting to get into playing sports. I never saw James play, but I’ve watched Granato many times on TV and she was always aggressive, skilled and a natural leader for Team USA and led them to many a championship.

While I’m disappointed not seeing Pat Burns get elected, the class still holds a great story and has helped knock down one more wall in the name of women’s athletics at a mainstream level.

(There were also two inductees to the HHOF in the “builder” category: Jimmy Devellano and Daryl “Doc” Seaman. I need to do some research on them to learn more and educate myself on the history of the game).

Read more at:

ESPN’s 2010 HHOF Story and TSN.ca’s CICCARELLI, GRANATO AND JAMES ELECTED TO HALL OF FAME

USA Hockey article on Granato: Granato earns call from Hockey Hall of Fame

