Tags

, , , , , ,

I am not trying to spread rumors regarding New Jersey Devils center Travis Zajac and the Washington Capitals. I’m just wishful thinking as a Caps fan who has dealt with a much longer off-season than was anticipated.

Seeing this post from Pro Hockey Talk and then reading the NY Post article by Mark Everson, I couldn’t help but let my mind wander with visions of a true – and ready – 2nd line center. Mike Hume of ESPN New York touches on the Caps being a potential fit, and I’m curious if this could get legs.

The price would be steep I’d assume, but it would make the Caps legit up the middle for all their line combinations.

According to Everson’s article, “Zajac, 25, signed a new deal last summer that has a cap hit of $3.89 million for the next three seasons. He is coming off his best season of 25-42-67.”

Time to sit back and watch GMGM. Will the Caps add a 2nd line center and/or a top 6 defenseman before the start of training camp? All I know for certain is that I check Capitals Insider and TSN.ca multiple times a day just in case.

