Tags

, , ,

As we approach the Capitals Convention this Saturday, October 2nd at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in D.C., I’ve been infiltrated by the Columbus Blue Jackets.

The sports card technique inspired by Japer's Rink - this is Nash in case you only watch Eastern Conference hockey

In a terrific gesture, my friend, who has very close ties to the Blue Jackets, sent me a small box with some Columbus goodies in it. Late last week we exchanged Facebook messages and he ended his note with, “Glad to hear that all is well for you and send me an address and I will get ya a little something to make you more of a Columbus fan.”

We worked together previously in pro sports and touch base every now and then, especially as the NHL season starts revving up.

The “little something” is a Blue Jackets Reebok shirt that was used to wrap an autographed Rick Nash puck. Nash is a stud right wing, who is big, yet has a scorers touch.

My short Flickr gallery with images of the shirt and the autographed Rick Nash puck.

He was on Canada’s gold medal winning men’s squad in the 2010 Vancouver Olympics and may be able to make even more of a name for himself this season.

Much like the Capitals did when Bruce Boudreau took over, the Blue Jackets dipped into the AHL for a more offensively aggressive head coach, Scott Arniel (Manitoba Moose). They are looking to introduce an offensive mindset and shed their defense first approach. When this happened in Washington it allowed Alex Ovechkin to spread his wings and flourish even more.

And this is what led me to draft Nash in the 4th round of my NHL fantasy league earlier this evening (though I hope it doesn’t mean I regret taking Steve Mason, their #1 goalie). He has consistently posted good numbers in a defensive system. There is potential for Nash to improve upon his career bests in goals, assists and points.

My allegiance to the Capitals can’t be overcome, but I appreciate good hockey and the sport at large, so I’m happy to receive the thoughtful gifts and will pull for Nash and the Blue Jackets, as long as they aren’t lining up against Washington.

