Tags

, , , , ,

Happy St. Patrick's Day

I celebrated the Washington Capitals (and Vancouver Canucks) by rocking the green during St. Patrick’s Day 2011.

The holiday complete with tradition of wearing green didn’t always hold great significance to me. Ever since I purchased this shamrock Alexander Ovechkin Caps shirt about 3 years ago I haven’t missed wearing it on the big Jameson and Guinness holiday.

It’s fun having strangers ask where it came from, or walking past a friendly pack of buzzing, casual hockey fans who slur “that’s the coolest shirt I’ve seen today.”

As for the Canucks hat, I’m a big fan of USA Hockey product Ryan Kesler, but actually picked this up as a souvenir when my wife and I flew there for the Caps @ Canucks game in 2009.

Unfortunately, the home team won 3-2, but it was only a momentary downer during an otherwise incredible first visit to Vancouver for me.

Canucks fans were so excited to talk about Ovechkin whenever they saw my red “The Franchise” Caps hat,

O'vechkin

that I felt like an extra special guest by distant association.

If I have a Western Conference team it is the Canucks. And if you haven’t been to Vancouver, do yourself a favor and look into it.

The NHL and NHL.com celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with a video using Washington’s biggest on-ice hero, who I was convinced was Russian. Watch it here (and its worth sitting through the pre-roll ad).

If you celebrated the holiday and rocked the Capitals green I’d love to see pics as well and share with anyone who also checks out this post – so let me know via a comment/image link.

And if you weren’t prepared with green this year get ready SPD 2012 with your own Capitals St Patrick’s Day gear.

Enjoy and be safe tonight.

